What Gregg Jevin did to me

8 Mar

2:35 PM Thursday

Last night I blagged my way into Michael Legge’s Gregg Jevin Memorial do at the Soho Theatre. He didn’t know the Gregg Jevin I knew.

My goal was to put my two cents in on the dude, who I thought was dick. Sorry.

As I wrote yesterday, I knew him from New York.  He stayed at my place in Brooklyn and I gave him spots at the Boston Comedy Club. He wasn’t funny by New York standards – no British comic is – but I knew how much it meant to him. He repaid me by bringing dubious ladies back to my flat in Fort Greene, one of whom took a dump on my kitchen table to thank Gregg for his interest in her.

When I came here to London he was one of the first comics to avoid me when it became obvious I wasn’t going to be an immediate hit. Sadly, that is what comedy is about: Are you famous? Are you going to be famous? At the very least, do you know anyone famous? None of the above? Then sayonara.

But his goodbye was the fastest in Britain. And I guess I saw Jevin as a reminder of my 12 years of struggle in the UK.

I was expecting to have to force my way into the Soho Theatre. I was sure they were not familiar with my work – Lewis Schaffer is Free until Famous at the Source Below, the longest-running solo comedy show in London.

Surprisingly, I was welcomed into the room as if I was due on stage. Michael Legge smiled at me. Friendly faces approached me – funny Angie McEvoy, Shappi Khorsandi, and Nick Doody. A woman who had seen me perform my show insisted on buying me a drink. Britain is the only country in the world where someone will buy you a drink and not try to sell you something.

Steve Bennett, Mr. Chortle comedy website, spotted me during the break and I bought us drinks. Later I got a round of drinks for the people who had seen my show. That is how I know I am not famous: I can buy drinks for everyone who has seen my show. I even got another for myself.

You are probably thinking I’m making this all up. “Lewis, not only have you never had three beers in one night but you have never bought anyone a drink, not even Steve Bennett.”  But it is all true.

I came to the Soho Theatre to trash Gregg Jevin. I left thinking how funny English comics are [and when I say English, I’m including the Irish] especially Shappi, Nick Doody’s stomping on his baby and Michael Legge, who made Jevin funny. How bad could Gregg be with friends like those?

>>>

I hope this blog is okay. It’s hard to write knowing that at this moment John Fleming is writing something funnier than this. And not missing a day.

See Lewis Schaffer live every Tuesday and Wednesday at the Source Below. Free admission but you will be guilted into giving me money to get out. Reserve at http://bit.ly/londonfreeshow

Leave a Reply

Lewis Schaffer

Nunhead American Comedian

SO IT GOES - John Fleming's blog

John Fleming’s blog: human interest, humour, humor, comedy blog featuring eccentricity, performance, movies and occasionally a few tears

Nunhead Nags

A blog about Nunhead regeneration

Lewis Schaffer

Nunhead American Comic

Lewis Schaffer

Nunhead American Comedian

SO IT GOES - John Fleming's blog

John Fleming’s blog: human interest, humour, humor, comedy blog featuring eccentricity, performance, movies and occasionally a few tears

Nunhead Nags

A blog about Nunhead regeneration

Lewis Schaffer

Nunhead American Comic

